Frequently Asked Questions

General Set Up FAQs

What happens if I move?


If you are moving within the same service area, just give us a call and update your address. If you are moving out of the area, call or check to see if we provide energy to your new address.




What is the TLC Pledge?


Try it. Like it. Change it. It’s simple. We’re so sure you’ll love the Wholesale Club, Free & Clear Nights, Lone Star Plus 12 or Lone Star Basics 12 plan that we make you a pledge. Try one of these plans and if you aren’t happy, let us know within 60 days and we’ll change it to another Ambit plan of your choice for free. That’s our pledge to you. This promotion applies to new and existing Ambit residential Customers. You must change your plan to another Ambit plan within 60 days of your enrollment date for Ambit to waive your early termination fee. The early termination fee applies if you change plans after 60 days or you cancel your service with Ambit after your rescission period. You are only allowed to change plans once for Ambit to waive your early termination fee.




Who do I call if there is a service outage?


  • In the event of an emergency, or to report outages, contact the utility provider in your service area. For a list of contacts and phone numbers in your state, visit Ambit Energy’s Contact Us page.
¿A quién llamo si hay un apagón de servicio?
En el caso de una emergencia, o para reportar apagones, comunícate con tu proveedor de servicios públicos en tú área. Para obtener una lista de contactos y números de teléfonos en tu estado, visita la página de contactos de Ambit Energy.




Can my deposit be waived?


Yes. We can waive your deposit if you can provide any of the following: Letter of credit
This must be requested from your previous electricity provider.

Proof that you are a senior citizen
Identification showing that you are 65 years of age or older.

Proof of medical indigence
Certification letter signed by a physician that establishes you as medically indigent. You can find this document and more information at the Public Utility Commission of Texas’ income assistance page.

Proof that you are a victim of family violence
Texas Council on Family Violence deposit-waiver certification letter. The letter must be completed by family violence personnel, treating medical personnel, law enforcement personnel, a Texas District or County Attorney, the Office of the Attorney General personnel, or a grantee of the Texas Equal Access to Justice Foundation. You can find this document by contacting your caseworker or looking under forms-and-information on the Texas Council on Family Violence site.
If eligible, we ask that you submit the necessary documentation as well as a cover letter with the following information: (1) your Ambit Energy account number, (2) the name on the account, (3) the address being serviced, and (4) your contact phone number.

Please allow us up to two days to process your request. Phone: Electricity Experts 888-888-8ASK or 888-888-8275

Fax:
Ambit Energy
(877) 805-5606

Mail:
Ambit Energy
P.O. Box 864589
Plano, TX 75086

Email:
Ambit Energy Care
Careaction@ambitenergy.com




Who will Electricity Experts choose as my new provider?


We are proud to choose Ambit Energy for all of our clients. What makes Ambit Energy different from other energy providers?

Ambit offers an unparalleled Free Energy Program, which Customers can use to reduce or eliminate energy charges each month, along with competitive rates and top-notch Customer Care.

Ambit has kept their core values intact, and Ambit still feels like a small company even though we’ve grown to become one of the most successful energy providers in the country. In 2013, Ambit recorded revenues of more than $1 billion. A year before that, they surpassed 1 million Customers and they're still growing.

Ambit is dedicated to being the finest and most-respected retail energy company in America, and it all starts with you – our valued Customers!

Learn more about what separates Ambit from the competition.




Will I owe a deposit to start service?


Not usually. Deposits are not required in any of our markets except for Texas. In Texas only, some Customers are required to pay a deposit to complete enrollment for Residential meters. Commercial meters do not require a deposit to start service for a Business.

Ambit runs a soft credit inquiry to determine if a deposit is needed. If a deposit is required, you will have the option to pay the entire amount at enrollment, pay in two installments or pay the entire amount within 30 days of your order. Apartments – $40, $80, $120*, $160* Houses – $70, $140, $210*, $280* *These amounts may be split into two installments. Half is due in order to start service; the other half will be deferred to your first invoice.
Low income customers may be eligible for deposit payment assistance. Please contact the Public Utility Commission at (888) 782-8477 or visit the Public Utility Commission of Texas’ Fact Sheet for details.




What should I do after I complete my enrollment?


Take note of your new account number and then do the following:

  1. Complete a Third Party Verification. This process allows us to finalize your enrollment by telephone and gives you the opportunity to confirm your enrollment is correct. You can reach our Third Party Verification service at: (866) 942-6248.

  2. Get plugged in. Register for your online MyAmbit Account to receive notifications and explore tools and services available to you, such as online payment (Texas Customers), free energy and more.

  3. Watch your mailbox for your welcome package. Ambit Energy’s welcome package will include information to confirm the terms of your agreement, rate plan, and other important documents.




How long does it take to start or switch my service?


The application is simple and only takes 5-10 minutes to enroll over the phone or online but the third party verification call to 866-942-6248 must also be done before your order can move foward. Texas Customers
Once you have completed enrollment, the process to switch to Ambit Energy is usually finalized within one to seven business days. Timelines may vary based on the ability of your utility to remotely control your meter, if a technician needs to be dispatched, or if a deposit must be paid in advance.

You may pick the date you would like to start or switch. Should you need your service request expedited with the local utility (within 24 hours), just let us know. Please note expedite fees may apply.

Non-Texas Customers
Once you have completed enrollment, the process to switch to Ambit Energy is usually finalized in one or two billing cycles (but may be sooner in some markets). Your incumbent utility provider controls your billing cycle, which is typically based upon your meter read / bill date. For more information, please contact Customer Care at: (877) 282-6248.




What if I am still in contract with my current provider?


We can still help! Review your contract details to find out what fees you’d be subject to for an early cancellation. By Texas law, you can switch out of your contract up to two weeks before the end date without penalty. ElectricityExperts.com helps you compare electricity rates and find the best plan for you. Please call us at 888-888-8ASK or 888-888-8275 with your questions or concerns. Stuck In A Contract With Your Electricity Provider? Know Your Options Published on May 9, 2017 in Smart Electricity Shopping What should you do if you are in a contract and electric rates go down? What if you find another electricity plan from another provider that’s better? What if you are moving? The answers depend on your specific situation. Each electric supplier has a unique policy for early termination fees and each state has their own rules about what your supplier can charge in different situations. Customers generally love electricity deregulation because it gives them the power to choose their energy provider and the price they pay for electricity. With this freedom of energy choice comes many decisions. One of those decisions is whether or not to enter into a long-term contract with a provider. Retail electricity providers offer customers contract choices that can range from month-to-month (no obligation) to five years (a seriously long-term obligation) and everything in between. Signing a contract with an electricity provider means that you have certain obligations but what are they? The bottom line is that you can still shop for electricity rates and plans even if you are in a long-term contract. However, if you switch before the end of the initial term of your contract you will likely have to pay an early termination fee. Depending on your situation and your contract, that may be a decision worth crunching the numbers over. Scenario #1: “I Found a Better Electricity Rate But I’m in a Contract” Electricity rates fluctuate regularly. In most of the U.S., electric rates are highest in the summer and lowest in late winter/early spring. Because summer is a popular time to move, people often find themselves shopping for electricity during the time of year when rates are the highest. When it comes time to renew their contract, they are stuck in a cycle of renewing when rates are the highest. It’s no surprise that these customers are frustrated when they notice lower rates available during other times of the year. If you find yourself in this situation, take a look at your contract or call your provider. Providers are required to disclose the early termination fee which can range from $0 – $275 or more. Some providers will waive the fee if you simply call them directly. Other providers may only charge a fee per month remaining in the contract. Know what the termination fee is for your contract and then you’ll be able to make an economic decision. If you happen to live in Connecticut, the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority caps your early termination fee at $50. How to decide if it’s a good idea to pay an early termination fee and get out of your contract To figure this out, you’ll need to spend a few minutes doing some basic rate comparisons. First, grab your most recent electric bill. Take the total amount due and divide by the amount of energy you used (kWh) during this billing cycle to calculate your average rate per kWh. Below is an example of a Texas utility bill and for this example you would make the following calculation for average rate per kWh: $137.08 + $102.33 = $239.41/2727 kWh = 8.78 cents per kWh Second, use ElectricityExperts.com to easily find a better rate for the same energy usage. You can calculate within a few pennies what your new electric bill would be by using the pricing details section included in each electricity plan on the shopping page. If the total savings that you would realize after taking into consideration any early termination fees is significant enough to you, then it is a good economic decision for you to switch plans. Other than the early termination fee, there is no other penalty for breaking the contract with your current provider. Another consideration is average billing. If you signed up for average billing with your provider, you will be required to settle up any deferred balance on your contract if your terminate it. To learn more about average billing, check out How Does Average Billing Work? You may determine that it’s worth paying the early termination fee to get out of a high-priced contract with your current provider. However if you don’t want to change providers, you can always call them and see if they will re-negotiate your contract at a better rate. Providers don’t like to lose customers and they may be willing to work with you and offer a better rate if you extend the length of your contract with them. It’s worth asking. Scenario #2: “I’m Moving But I’m in a Contract” You’re moving and you’re in a long-term contract with your electricity provider. Fortunately, you are protected. Every state has provisions that prevent electricity suppliers from charging you an early termination fee if you move during the term of your contract. Your provider may require proof of your change of address in order to waive the cancellation fee. If you are moving within the provider’s service area, you may be able to transfer your existing contract to your new address but you are not required to. Scenario #3: “I Just Signed a Contract with a New Electricity Provider but Found a Better Rate the Next Day” Most deregulated states give you two or three business days to cancel your contract without penalty. For example, in Texas you have three business days to change your mind after you sign up with a provider. If you find a better rate a day or two later, it’s not a problem. The number of days that you have to change your mind is outlined in the terms of service included with your new electricity contract. Should I Stay Or Should I Go? It’s not a good feeling to be stuck in an unfavorable contract with your electricity provider. Know that you have options and you don’t have to wait until the end of your contract term to make a change. After evaluating your specific contract, you may come to the conclusion that paying an early termination fee makes good economic sense because it saves you money in the long run. ElectricityExperts.com helps you compare electricity rates and find the best plan for you. Please call us at 888-888-8ASK or 888-888-8275 with your questions or concerns.





 

Ambit App (MyAmbitMobile) FAQs

What happens if I move?


If you are moving within the same service area, just give us a call and update your address. If you are moving out of the area, call or check to see if we provide energy to your new address.




What is the TLC Pledge?


Try it. Like it. Change it. It’s simple. We’re so sure you’ll love the Wholesale Club, Free & Clear Nights, Lone Star Plus 12 or Lone Star Basics 12 plan that we make you a pledge. Try one of these plans and if you aren’t happy, let us know within 60 days and we’ll change it to another Ambit plan of your choice for free. That’s our pledge to you. This promotion applies to new and existing Ambit residential Customers. You must change your plan to another Ambit plan within 60 days of your enrollment date for Ambit to waive your early termination fee. The early termination fee applies if you change plans after 60 days or you cancel your service with Ambit after your rescission period. You are only allowed to change plans once for Ambit to waive your early termination fee.




Who do I call if there is a service outage?


  • In the event of an emergency, or to report outages, contact the utility provider in your service area. For a list of contacts and phone numbers in your state, visit Ambit Energy’s Contact Us page.
¿A quién llamo si hay un apagón de servicio?
En el caso de una emergencia, o para reportar apagones, comunícate con tu proveedor de servicios públicos en tú área. Para obtener una lista de contactos y números de teléfonos en tu estado, visita la página de contactos de Ambit Energy.




Can my deposit be waived?


Yes. We can waive your deposit if you can provide any of the following: Letter of credit
This must be requested from your previous electricity provider.

Proof that you are a senior citizen
Identification showing that you are 65 years of age or older.

Proof of medical indigence
Certification letter signed by a physician that establishes you as medically indigent. You can find this document and more information at the Public Utility Commission of Texas’ income assistance page.

Proof that you are a victim of family violence
Texas Council on Family Violence deposit-waiver certification letter. The letter must be completed by family violence personnel, treating medical personnel, law enforcement personnel, a Texas District or County Attorney, the Office of the Attorney General personnel, or a grantee of the Texas Equal Access to Justice Foundation. You can find this document by contacting your caseworker or looking under forms-and-information on the Texas Council on Family Violence site.
If eligible, we ask that you submit the necessary documentation as well as a cover letter with the following information: (1) your Ambit Energy account number, (2) the name on the account, (3) the address being serviced, and (4) your contact phone number.

Please allow us up to two days to process your request. Phone: Electricity Experts 888-888-8ASK or 888-888-8275

Fax:
Ambit Energy
(877) 805-5606

Mail:
Ambit Energy
P.O. Box 864589
Plano, TX 75086

Email:
Ambit Energy Care
Careaction@ambitenergy.com




Who will Electricity Experts choose as my new provider?


We are proud to choose Ambit Energy for all of our clients. What makes Ambit Energy different from other energy providers?

Ambit offers an unparalleled Free Energy Program, which Customers can use to reduce or eliminate energy charges each month, along with competitive rates and top-notch Customer Care.

Ambit has kept their core values intact, and Ambit still feels like a small company even though we’ve grown to become one of the most successful energy providers in the country. In 2013, Ambit recorded revenues of more than $1 billion. A year before that, they surpassed 1 million Customers and they're still growing.

Ambit is dedicated to being the finest and most-respected retail energy company in America, and it all starts with you – our valued Customers!

Learn more about what separates Ambit from the competition.




Will I owe a deposit to start service?


Not usually. Deposits are not required in any of our markets except for Texas. In Texas only, some Customers are required to pay a deposit to complete enrollment for Residential meters. Commercial meters do not require a deposit to start service for a Business.

Ambit runs a soft credit inquiry to determine if a deposit is needed. If a deposit is required, you will have the option to pay the entire amount at enrollment, pay in two installments or pay the entire amount within 30 days of your order. Apartments – $40, $80, $120*, $160* Houses – $70, $140, $210*, $280* *These amounts may be split into two installments. Half is due in order to start service; the other half will be deferred to your first invoice.
Low income customers may be eligible for deposit payment assistance. Please contact the Public Utility Commission at (888) 782-8477 or visit the Public Utility Commission of Texas’ Fact Sheet for details.




What should I do after I complete my enrollment?


Take note of your new account number and then do the following:

  1. Complete a Third Party Verification. This process allows us to finalize your enrollment by telephone and gives you the opportunity to confirm your enrollment is correct. You can reach our Third Party Verification service at: (866) 942-6248.

  2. Get plugged in. Register for your online MyAmbit Account to receive notifications and explore tools and services available to you, such as online payment (Texas Customers), free energy and more.

  3. Watch your mailbox for your welcome package. Ambit Energy’s welcome package will include information to confirm the terms of your agreement, rate plan, and other important documents.




How long does it take to start or switch my service?


The application is simple and only takes 5-10 minutes to enroll over the phone or online but the third party verification call to 866-942-6248 must also be done before your order can move foward. Texas Customers
Once you have completed enrollment, the process to switch to Ambit Energy is usually finalized within one to seven business days. Timelines may vary based on the ability of your utility to remotely control your meter, if a technician needs to be dispatched, or if a deposit must be paid in advance.

You may pick the date you would like to start or switch. Should you need your service request expedited with the local utility (within 24 hours), just let us know. Please note expedite fees may apply.

Non-Texas Customers
Once you have completed enrollment, the process to switch to Ambit Energy is usually finalized in one or two billing cycles (but may be sooner in some markets). Your incumbent utility provider controls your billing cycle, which is typically based upon your meter read / bill date. For more information, please contact Customer Care at: (877) 282-6248.




What if I am still in contract with my current provider?


We can still help! Review your contract details to find out what fees you’d be subject to for an early cancellation. By Texas law, you can switch out of your contract up to two weeks before the end date without penalty. ElectricityExperts.com helps you compare electricity rates and find the best plan for you. Please call us at 888-888-8ASK or 888-888-8275 with your questions or concerns. Stuck In A Contract With Your Electricity Provider? Know Your Options Published on May 9, 2017 in Smart Electricity Shopping What should you do if you are in a contract and electric rates go down? What if you find another electricity plan from another provider that’s better? What if you are moving? The answers depend on your specific situation. Each electric supplier has a unique policy for early termination fees and each state has their own rules about what your supplier can charge in different situations. Customers generally love electricity deregulation because it gives them the power to choose their energy provider and the price they pay for electricity. With this freedom of energy choice comes many decisions. One of those decisions is whether or not to enter into a long-term contract with a provider. Retail electricity providers offer customers contract choices that can range from month-to-month (no obligation) to five years (a seriously long-term obligation) and everything in between. Signing a contract with an electricity provider means that you have certain obligations but what are they? The bottom line is that you can still shop for electricity rates and plans even if you are in a long-term contract. However, if you switch before the end of the initial term of your contract you will likely have to pay an early termination fee. Depending on your situation and your contract, that may be a decision worth crunching the numbers over. Scenario #1: “I Found a Better Electricity Rate But I’m in a Contract” Electricity rates fluctuate regularly. In most of the U.S., electric rates are highest in the summer and lowest in late winter/early spring. Because summer is a popular time to move, people often find themselves shopping for electricity during the time of year when rates are the highest. When it comes time to renew their contract, they are stuck in a cycle of renewing when rates are the highest. It’s no surprise that these customers are frustrated when they notice lower rates available during other times of the year. If you find yourself in this situation, take a look at your contract or call your provider. Providers are required to disclose the early termination fee which can range from $0 – $275 or more. Some providers will waive the fee if you simply call them directly. Other providers may only charge a fee per month remaining in the contract. Know what the termination fee is for your contract and then you’ll be able to make an economic decision. If you happen to live in Connecticut, the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority caps your early termination fee at $50. How to decide if it’s a good idea to pay an early termination fee and get out of your contract To figure this out, you’ll need to spend a few minutes doing some basic rate comparisons. First, grab your most recent electric bill. Take the total amount due and divide by the amount of energy you used (kWh) during this billing cycle to calculate your average rate per kWh. Below is an example of a Texas utility bill and for this example you would make the following calculation for average rate per kWh: $137.08 + $102.33 = $239.41/2727 kWh = 8.78 cents per kWh Second, use ElectricityExperts.com to easily find a better rate for the same energy usage. You can calculate within a few pennies what your new electric bill would be by using the pricing details section included in each electricity plan on the shopping page. If the total savings that you would realize after taking into consideration any early termination fees is significant enough to you, then it is a good economic decision for you to switch plans. Other than the early termination fee, there is no other penalty for breaking the contract with your current provider. Another consideration is average billing. If you signed up for average billing with your provider, you will be required to settle up any deferred balance on your contract if your terminate it. To learn more about average billing, check out How Does Average Billing Work? You may determine that it’s worth paying the early termination fee to get out of a high-priced contract with your current provider. However if you don’t want to change providers, you can always call them and see if they will re-negotiate your contract at a better rate. Providers don’t like to lose customers and they may be willing to work with you and offer a better rate if you extend the length of your contract with them. It’s worth asking. Scenario #2: “I’m Moving But I’m in a Contract” You’re moving and you’re in a long-term contract with your electricity provider. Fortunately, you are protected. Every state has provisions that prevent electricity suppliers from charging you an early termination fee if you move during the term of your contract. Your provider may require proof of your change of address in order to waive the cancellation fee. If you are moving within the provider’s service area, you may be able to transfer your existing contract to your new address but you are not required to. Scenario #3: “I Just Signed a Contract with a New Electricity Provider but Found a Better Rate the Next Day” Most deregulated states give you two or three business days to cancel your contract without penalty. For example, in Texas you have three business days to change your mind after you sign up with a provider. If you find a better rate a day or two later, it’s not a problem. The number of days that you have to change your mind is outlined in the terms of service included with your new electricity contract. Should I Stay Or Should I Go? It’s not a good feeling to be stuck in an unfavorable contract with your electricity provider. Know that you have options and you don’t have to wait until the end of your contract term to make a change. After evaluating your specific contract, you may come to the conclusion that paying an early termination fee makes good economic sense because it saves you money in the long run. ElectricityExperts.com helps you compare electricity rates and find the best plan for you. Please call us at 888-888-8ASK or 888-888-8275 with your questions or concerns.





 

Power Payback FAQs

How will I know if I qualified to receive a credit?


We’ll send you an email a few days after the period of extreme electricity demand letting you know you’ve qualified for a bill credit.




What are some ways that I can reduce my electricity consumption?


You can set your thermostat a little higher, avoid washing and drying clothes, unplug unnecessary appliances and other household items, use ceiling fans to cool your home, and schedule meal preparation for the cooler times of the day. If you have a pool, turn off the pump. Check out Ambit resources like The Spark and MyAmbit Account for other energy-saving ideas.




Who is eligible to participate?


Texas Customers who have a Smart Meter and who have received notification of a period of extreme electricity demand.




How will I know when I need to cut back on my electricity?


We’ll notify you by email or phone as soon as we are aware of a potential period of extreme electricity demand. To ensure you receive your notifications, please confirm your email or phone contact information is up-to-date in MyAmbit Account.




What is the Power Payback™ program?


What is the Power Payback™ program? The Power Payback™ program rewards you for doing something you already want to do—lower your energy bills. You’ll also help avoid brownouts and rolling blackouts by actively managing your power usage during defined period of high electricity demand. Here’s how it works.
Before an anticipated peak demand period, we’ll notify you by email or phone. You can take steps to cut back on your electricity usage during the defined time period, and if your energy usage during that time is less than your previous five-day average for the same time of day, we’ll credit you up to $1.00 for every kWh saved. Getting paid to save is just what you’d expect from the company that brought you Free Energy.




How do I sign-up to participate?


No sign-up is required.




Do I need any special equipment to participate?


No special equipment is required other than a Smart Meter provided by your Transmission Distribution Utility.




How is the bill credit calculated?


We compare your usage during the defined period of high electricity demand against the previous five weekday average for the same time of day. We will then multiply the number of kilowatt hours saved times the Power Payback™ discount (up to $1.00) to get the total bill credit.




When will I see the bill credits posted on my bill?


You’ll receive your bill credit within three billing cycles.




I didn’t receive any notification regarding a period of extreme electricity demand. How can I ensure that I receive a notification in the future?


Make sure your email address is current by logging into your MyAmbit Account and by adding comms@ambitenergy.com to your email contact list.